Listen to Metallica warm up for their first gig 35 years ago

Vids 15/03/2017

On the 14th of March 35 years ago, Metallica played their first ever gig in front of about 100 people at Radio City in Anaheim, CA.

On that Sunday night James Hetfield was only doing vocals, Lars Ulrich was on drums, Dave Mustaine on guitar, and Ron McGovney on bass.

Earlier that day, the band recorded a demo/warm up to their first show in Ron's garage that has been uploaded in three parts online.

The first part includes three tracks; Hit The Lights, Jump in the Fire and the Sweet Savage cover Killing Time.

Part two starts with another Savage cover for Let It Loose then Diamond Head covers of Sucking My Love and The Prince. 

Finally part three ends with Am I Evil and Helpless, both Diamond Head covers.

James has previously told Kerrang magazine about how the show went: "The first gig was at Radio City, and I was just singing. There were a lot of people there, maybe 200, because we had all my school friends and all Lars' and Ron's and Dave's buddies.

"I was really nervous and a little uncomfortable without a guitar, and then during the first song Dave broke a string.

"It seemed to take him eternity to change it and I was standing there really embarrassed. We were really disappointed afterwards. But there were never as many people at the following shows as there were at that first one."

Here's the show's full set list of Metallica's first show, featuring a bunch of covers and a couple originals.

Metallica Live at Radio City, March 14, 1982
1. Hit the Lights
2. Blitzkrieg (Blitzkrieg cover)
3. Helpless (Diamond Head cover)
4. Jump in the Fire
5. Let It Loose (Savage cover)
6. Sucking My Love (Diamond Head cover)
7. Am I Evil? (Diamond Head cover)
8. The Prince (Diamond Head cover)
9. Killing Time (Sweet Savage cover)