Motorhead, from left: singer and bassist Lemmy Kilmister, guitarist Eddie Clarke and drummer Phil Taylor, circa 1978. (Getty Images)

Eddie Clarke, the last original member of Motörhead has died

Motorhead 12/01/2018

The Rock world is in mourning this morning. Motörhead guitarist “Fast” Eddie Clarke has died at the age of 67.

The Official Motörhead facebook page announced the news late last night, explaining that the guitarist died peacefully in hospital after a bad case of pneumonia. 

He joined Motörhead in 1976. Along with drummer Phil Taylor and frontman Lemmy, Clarke is known to be part of the best Motörhead lineup.

They released their debut album in 1977, with hits including Ace of Spades. 

He left the band in 1982, and was replaced by Thin Lizzy guitarist Brian Robertson. Clarke then formed the band Fastway with UFO bassist Pete Way. They released seven albums and toured with AC/DC. 

Later on in life he rejoined Motörhead. 

Clarke was the last surviving member of the original band and will be sorely missed.