Iron Maiden announce 17th album, 'Senjutsu'

Music 20/07/2021

Iron Maiden are treating us to some new music, announcing their 17th album 'Senjutsu'.

The official announcement comes less than a week after the heavy metal legends released their first piece of new music in six years, "The Writing On The Wall".

The album was recorded back in early 2019 during a break in their Legacy Tour at Guillaume Tell Studio in France, where they recorded The Book Of Souls in 2015.

"We recorded this album in the same way we did The Book Of Souls in that we’d write a song, rehearse it and then put it down together straight away while it was all fresh in our minds", said bassist and founding member Steve Harris.

Senjutsu, which is a Japanese term loosely translating to 'tactics and strategy', runs just over 80 minutes and is comprised of 10 tracks:

1. Senjutsu
2. Stratego
3. The Writing On The Wall
4. Lost In A Lost World
5. Days Of Future Past
6. The Time Machine
7. Darkest Hour
8. Death Of The Celts
9. The Parchment
10. Hell On Earth

With the album announcement also comes a new look at Eddie, who's become a Samurai warrior for this album cover - check it out up top. 

After the band's longest-ever-gap between albums, we're bloody excited for this one. 

Senjutsu is set to release September 3rd, with pre-orders beginning on July 21st.