Rock News

WATCH: Metallica’s full old-school set from tribute show last year

This is a fcking awesome set.

This is a f*cking awesome set.

At the end of last year, Metallica played an old-school tribute gig to celebrate the early days of the band, as well as the life and legacy of the late Megaforce Records founder Jon “Jonny Z” Zazula and his wife Marsha. 

In Lars Ulrich’s words, Jon and Marsha Zazula “are the reason Metallica exists today” -  they were the pair who first heard the band’s demo tape, No Life ‘Til Leather, and took a chance on them for their first two albums.

The tribute gig, which went down at Hard Rock Live in Hollywood, featured a 16-song setlist with eight songs from Kill ‘Em All and eight from Ride the Lightning. How good?!

The nearly-two-hour-long set saw the band rip through their early catalogue, as well as two cover songs that they regularly played during their early performances - “Blitzkrieg” and “Am I Evil?”  

Check out the unreal setlist below.

Metallica - Nov. 6, 2022 Jon & Marsha Zazula Tribute Concert Setlist:

01. Creeping Death

02. Ride the Lightning

03. Motorbreath

04. No Remorse

05. Trapped Under Ice

06. The Call of Ktulu

07. Phantom Lord

08. Am I Evil?

09. Metal Militia

10. For Whom the Bell Tolls

11. Whiplash

12. Fade to Black

13. Seek & Destroy


14. Fight Fire With Fire

15. Blitzkrieg

16. Hit the Lights

A portion of the proceeds from the insane gig was donated in Jonny and Marsha’s name to MusiCares, an organisation that aids in the health and welfare of musicians through various programs. 

A fan has kindly uploaded the full tribute gig to YouTube which you check it out up top. 

Plus, Metallica has uploaded the audio of the set to their website which you can check out here. We’ll go one further - if you wanna purchase a CD of the tribute gig, you can also do that here

Ever wondered what Metallica’s very first setlist was? Have a geeze at it here.