Netflix has made the interesting decision to not let people share accounts, so if any of the family are using your account, you might wanna read this.
The streaming service is making it so accounts can only be shared within one household, with devices that aren’t in that household potentially being blocked from watching Netflix.
Chile, Costa Rica, and Peru are currently the only countries where the new changes are implemented, but Yahoo Finance reports that “the U.S. may be next up” and it’s probably just a matter of when, not if, it'll make its way to New Zealand.
Netflix’s Help Centre’s FAQs in the countries listed above have been updated with the new rules.
“People who aren’t part of your household will need to use their own account to watch Netflix,” it states. “Devices that are not part of your primary location will be blocked from watching Netflix.”
“When someone signs into your account from a device that is not part of your primary location, or if your account is accessed persistently from another location, that device may be blocked from watching Netflix.”
There is a way to work around the nuisance of a new ruling. All you have to do is “connect to the Wi-Fi at your primary location, open the Netflix app or website, and watch something at least once every 31 days.”
So, if your shouting someone's Netflix account, don't be surprised if they want to catch up monthly all of a sudden. Make sure you milk it.
The original owner can also add an extra account for someone outside the household, but that'll cost you extra - of course.