Arctic Monkeys announce new album 'The Car'
Rock News
Rock News

Arctic Monkeys announce new album 'The Car'

The release of 'The Car' comes 20 years after Arctic Monkeys were formed.

Arctic Monkeys have announced their new album 'The Car,' and have recently performed the first taster of it, 'I Ain't Quite Where I Think I Am.'

The band will release their seventh studio album on October 21 and frontman Alex Turner has revealed the record will bring the group "back to earth" following the intergalactic sound of their last album 'Tranquillity Base Hotel and Casino'.

The record was made with the group's regular producer James Ford and recorded at Butley Priory, a converted monastery in rural Suffolk.

Turner – who is joined in the band by Jamie Cook, Nick O'Malley and Matt Helders – explained that the decision to snub a typical recording studio was inspired by legends of rock-and-roll.

The 36-year-old musician said: "There's a bunch of Led Zeppelin and Stones records where they were in this house in the country and then they went and sorted it all out and overdubbed it elsewhere.

"We went there in the summer, took all the equipment, got the raw material and then took it on elsewhere."

The release of 'The Car' comes 20 years after Arctic Monkeys were formed in Sheffield and Turner wants the group to stay true to their roots.

He said: "You have to follow your instincts in the same way you did in the first place. In that way, it does all feel like it's connected to us 20 years ago in the garage when it was pure instinct."

The band also treated their audience in Switzerland last night (August 23) to the very first performance of their brand new song, ‘I Ain’t Quite Where I Think I Am’

Have a watch of fan-captured-footage below:

Check out The Car's tracklist below:

'There'd Better Be a Mirrorball'
'I Ain't Quite Where I Think I Am'
'Sculptures Of Anything Goes'
'Jet Skis On The Moat'
'Body Paint'
'The Car'
'Big Ideas'
'Hello You'
'Mr Schwartz'
'Perfect Sense'

Bang Showbiz & The Rock.