Rock News

Kings of Leon release new single ‘Mustang,’ & announce release date for forthcoming album

New Kings of Leon!

New Kings of Leon! The band have just released a new tune from their forthcoming album ‘Can We Please Have Fun.'

The band have been teasing the new song on their socials all week, and as of this morning (Feb 23), ‘Mustang’ has been released to the world along with a music video.

It sounds like the band have gone back to their roots with the new song, it has a bluesy riff and a catchy chorus with some light-hearted lyrics:

“There’s a mustang in the city
And it's calling me out
Are you a mustang or a kitty
What are you all about”

Their forthcoming album, ‘Can We Please Have Fun’ was produced by Kid Harpoon, marking Kings of Leon’s first album with Capitol Records. It follows their latest LP ‘When You See Yourself’ which was released in 2021. 

According to an official statement, the new album is “a document of one of this era’s great rock & roll bands cutting loose, trying new things, and, yes, having some fun.”

“It was the most enjoyable record I’ve ever been a part of,” says vocalist Caleb Followill. “It’s like we allowed ourselves to be musically vulnerable.” 

Kings of Leon’s ninth studio album ‘Can We Please Have Fun’ is set to be released on May 10th. Along with the single dropping today, they’ve also released the tracklist to get us fizzed for the album - check it out below.

Can We Please Have Fun Tracklist:

01 “Ballerina Radio”
02 “Rainbow Ball”
03 “Nowhere To Run”
04 “Mustang”
05 “Actual Daydream”
06 “Split Screen”
07 “Don’t Stop The Bleeding”
08 “Nothing To Do”
09 “Television”
10 “Hesitation Generation”
11 “Ease Me On”
12 “Seen”

We’re bloody excited for May 10th - you can pre-order the album here.